Creativity, Activity & Service

“Life belongs to the living and he who lives must be prepared for change.” Goethe

The purpose of CAS is personal development beyond the classroom. In an IB Diploma school the focus is not just on academic success; it’s about ensuring students are developing skills that will enable them to be global citizens of the world, with an appreciation of the need to care about local, national and international issues.

At Haileybury Astana we put emphasis on pupils completing meaningful experiences, which cover the three CAS strands:

Creativity can include art, design, drama, photography, music, working on the school magazine, theatre design, and initiating and planning service projects.

Activity involves physical experiences and is usually a sport such as hockey, squash, football, tennis or athletics. These activities should be focused on achieving a personal goal.

Service activities might be helping the elderly, helping out at the local soup kitchen, working with children with learning disabilities, hospital visits, environmental work or supporting local, national or international charities.

There is not a minimum number of hours you should spend doing CAS experiences. Instead, the focus is on these experiences being meaningful and ensuring the programme is continual for an 18 month period. To ensure experiences are meaningful pupils will spend time at the beginning of the programme ensuring they consider in depth what they want to get out of the CAS programme and how they can work towards making a difference in society.

The CAS Project is an opportunity for pupils to collaborate with other students to work on an experience, which runs for a minimum of 30 days. The current Year 12s worked in groups to run a social event at a home for the elderly just outside of Astana. This involved extensive planning, including a visit to the home to complete a risk assessment and identify rooms that could be used for the event. The event itself was an opportunity for our pupils to spend time with a vulnerable group of people they might not usually have the opportunity to communicate with. Pupils found the project to be a thoroughly rewarding and emotional experience, giving them a deeper understanding of the vulnerability of this group of people. One of the Year 12 students, Aidana stated following the event ‘hearing the residents talk about their lives and some of the struggles they’ve had made me realise that my own problems are trivial in comparison’.

Haileybury Astana and Haileybury Almaty are committed to the welfare and Safeguarding of young people. As part of our recruitment processes we require all applicants to undergo police checks and U.K. DBS checks and we operate clear safeguarding protocols.

Safeguarding and Child Protection Policy
This website use cookies. By continuing to use this website, you consent to our use of these cookies. Learn more

Творчество, деятельность, общество

“Жизнь нужна для того, чтобы жить, и тот, кто живет, должен быть готов к переменам”
И.В. Гёте

Цель курса CAS - личное развитие вне школьной программы. В IB программе основное внимание уделяется не только академическим успехам; речь идет о том, чтобы студенты развивали навыки, которые позволят им стать гражданами мира, с пониманием необходимости заботиться о местных, государственных и международных проблемах.

 

В Haileybury Астана мы уделяем особое внимание ученикам, которые занимаются видами деятельности в трех направлениях курса CAS:

 

Творчество включает изобразительное искусство, дизайн, театральное искусство, фотографию, музыку, работу над школьным журналом, театральный дизайн, а также планирование проектов по служению другим.

Деятельность подразумевает физическую работу, это, как правило, спорт: хоккей, сквош, футбол, теннис или легкая атлетика. Эти мероприятия должны быть направлены на достижение личных целей.

Служение другим (общество) может заключаться в помощи пожилым людям, помощи в местной столовой для нуждающихся, работе с детьми с ограниченными возможностями, посещении больниц, экологической работе или помощи местным, государственным или международным благотворительным организациям.

Дается минимальное количество часов, которые ученик должен использовать на курс CAS. Основное внимание уделяется тому, чтобы этот опыт был значимым и обеспечивал постоянную программу в течение 18 месяцев. Для обеспечения значимого опыта ученики в начале программы будут изучать, что они хотят получить из программы CAS, и как они смогут работать, чтобы изменить ситуацию в обществе.

Проект CAS - это возможность для учеников поработать с другими как минимум 30 дней. В этом году 12-классники работали в группах в социальном мероприятии в доме престарелых недалеко от Астаны. Работа включала планирование, посещение дома для проведения оценки рисков и определения комнат, которые могут быть использованы для мероприятия. Само мероприятие стало возможностью для наших учеников провести время с уязвимой группой людей, с которыми у них обычно не было возможности общаться. Ученики обнаружили, что этот опыт оказался полезным и эмоциональным, они стали более глубже понимать уязвимость этой группы людей. Ученица 12 класса Айдана сказала, что «после того, как она услышала о жизни и проблемах этих людей, ее собственные проблемы показались ей мелкими».

Haileybury Astana и Haileybury Almaty поддерживают благополучие и защиту молодежи. В рамках процесса найма новых сотрудников мы требуем от всех заявителей прохождения полицейских проверок и проверки DBS U.K. , также применяя в работе четкие протоколы по мерам защиты и безопасности.

Safeguarding and Child Protection Policy
Этот сайт использует cookies. Продалжая использовать данный сайт, вы соглашаетесь на использование этих файлов. Читать подробнее