The IB Learner Profile and Approaches to Learning Skills

The learner profile serves as a compass for all aspects of the IB, making it a coherent experience. It offers a vision of the ‘whole student’ and is focused on ten key characteristics of lifelong learners. 

IB learners strive to be:

Inquirers

They develop their natural curiosity. They acquire the skills necessary to conduct inquiry and research and show independence in learning. They actively enjoy learning and this love of learning will be sustained throughout their lives.

Knowledgeable

They explore concepts, ideas and issues that have local and global significance. In so doing, they acquire in-depth knowledge and develop understanding across a broad and balanced range of disciplines.

Thinkers

They exercise initiative in applying thinking skills critically and creatively to recognise and approach complex problems, and make reasoned, ethical decisions.

Communicators

They understand and express ideas and information confidently and creatively in more than one language and in a variety of modes of communication. They work effectively and willingly in collaboration with others.

Principled

They act with integrity and honesty, with a strong sense of fairness, justice and respect for the dignity of the individual, groups and communities. They take responsibility for their own actions and the consequences that accompany them.

Open minded

They understand and appreciate their own cultures and personal histories, and are open to the perspectives, values and traditions of other individuals and communities. They are accustomed to seeking and evaluating a range of points of view, and are willing to grow from the experience.

Caring

They show empathy, compassion and respect towards the needs and feelings of others. They have a personal commitment to service, and act to make a positive difference to the lives of others and to the environment.

Risk-takers

They approach unfamiliar situations and uncertainty with courage and forethought, and have the independence of spirit to explore new roles, ideas and strategies. They are brave and articulate in defending their beliefs.

Balanced

They understand the importance of intellectual, physical and emotional balance to achieve personal well-being for themselves and others.

Reflective

They give thoughtful consideration to their own learning and experience. They are able to assess and understand their strengths and limitations in order to support their learning and personal development.

Approaches to Learning Skills

The development of skills such as thinking skills and communication skills is frequently identified as a crucial element in preparing students effectively for life beyond school. Developing students’ ATL skills is about more than simply developing their cognitive skills; It is also about developing affective and metacognitive skills, and about encouraging students to view learning as something that they “do for themselves in a proactive way, rather than as a covert event that happens to them in reaction to teaching” (Zimmerman 2000: 65).

Thinking skills

Concern with developing students’ thinking, far from being a fad, is one of the most persistent and ambitious aspirations of education.

(Swartz and Perkins 1989: 5)

Developing thinking skills is a key feature of the constructivist approach that so heavily influences all IB programmes. In this approach, the teacher is seen as a facilitator who “guides the student, stimulating and provoking the student’s critical thinking, analysis and synthesis throughout the learning process” (Briner 1999: 1). Being “thinkers” is explicitly identified as one of the IB learner profile attributes, and is defined in terms of exercising initiative in applying thinking skills critically and creatively to recognize and approach complex problems, and make reasoned, ethical decisions.

Communication skills

Most people do not listen with the intent to understand; they listen with the intent to reply.

(Stephen Covey, 2004: 239)

Surveys asking hiring executives which skills they are looking for in potential future employees frequently report oral and written communication skills as being top of the list (see, for example, the survey in Wagner 2010). Students in the final years of their school-based education need to be very aware of this link, as the requirement for strong communication skills is often implied or explicitly identified in job descriptions (Krapels and Davis 2003).

Social skills

To function effectively in the school environment, students need to be adept at both peer-related and teacher-related social communication and behaviour. These skills are closely linked to communication skills and also to attributes of the IB learner profile, such as being caring (for example, through students being aware of the impact of their behaviour on others).

Self-management skills

This skill category breaks down into two separate areas.

  1. Organization skills—managing time and tasks effectively, goal-setting, etc.
  2. Affective skills—managing state of mind, self-motivation, resilience, mindfulness, etc.

Organization skills

One of the most crucial skill sets needed for success in the DP are organizational skills, and within that the particular skill of time management. Students at both secondary and tertiary levels are very aware of their own deficiencies in this area, but often do not have effective strategies to overcome them (Weissberg et al. 1982).

Affective skills

The development of affective skills is a key part of the development of self-management skills. This can enable students to gain some control over their mood, their motivation and their ability to deal effectively with setbacks and difficulties. There is also an important link between this area of ATL and the crucial area of student health and well-being, which historically has tended to be “mostly separated from other aspects of school life” (Konu and Rimpelā 2002).

Research skills

Most students think of researching as putting key words into a search box which leads them to undervalue the importance of other methods.

(Nichols and Mellinger 2007)

The development of research skills is given a central place in the DP, as can be seen, for example, through the importance placed on the extended essay. The extended essay provides the opportunity for students to undertake personal research into the study of a topic of their own choice, yet with the support and guidance of a supervisor. The extended essay is a demanding task, which is intended to help students to develop sophisticated research and writing skills. Yet the completion of such a task in a school environment, with the support and guidance of a supervisor, is intended to serve as excellent preparation for university studies, where students are likely to have to undertake similar tasks without the same level of structure, scaffolding and support.

We would like to extend special thanks to the IBO for providing the information contained on this page. Please follow the link (website) for more information on the ATLs.

Haileybury Astana and Haileybury Almaty are committed to the welfare and Safeguarding of young people. As part of our recruitment processes we require all applicants to undergo police checks and U.K. DBS checks and we operate clear safeguarding protocols.

Safeguarding and Child Protection Policy
This website use cookies. By continuing to use this website, you consent to our use of these cookies. Learn more

Профиль IB студента и подходы к навыкам обучения

Профиль студента служит компасом для всех аспектов IB. Он предлагает видение «всего студента» и ориентирован на десять ключевых характеристик обучения.

British independent school in Haileybury Astana

IB студенты стремятся:

Исследование

Они развивают свое естественное любопытство. Они приобретают навыки, необходимые для проведения исследований, и проявляют самостоятельность в обучении. Они наслаждаются процессом обучения, и эта любовь будет поддерживаться на протяжении всей их жизни.

Эрудированность

Они исследуют концепции, идеи и проблемы на местном и глобальном уровне. При этом они приобретают глубокие знания и развивают понимание в широком ряде дисциплин.

Мышление

Они применяют критические и творческие методы мышления для определения и анализа сложных проблем, а также применения обоснованных решений.

Общение

Они понимают и уверенно и креативно выражают информацию на нескольких языках и в различных способах общения. Они эффективно работают с другими.

Принципиальность

Они действуют честно и добросовестно, ответственно и справедливо, уважая достоинства и права людей. Они берут на себя ответственность за свои действия и их последствия.

 

Открытость

Они ценят свою культуру и историю, а также ценности и традиции других народов и открыты для перспектив, ценностей и традиций других людей и сообществ. Они привыкли искать и оценивать различные точки зрения и готовы развиваться из опыта.

Неравнодушие

Они проявляют сочувствие, сострадание и уважение к нуждам и чувствам других. У них есть обязательство служить другим, и они работают над тем, чтобы внести положительный вклад в жизнь других людей в мире.

Рискованность

Они обдуманно и решительно сталкиваются с неопределенностью. Они могут работать как самостоятельно, так и в команде, изучая новые роли, идеи и стратегии. Они храбры и эффективны в защите своих интересов.

Гармоничность

Они понимают важность интеллектуального, физического и эмоционального баланса для благополучия нас самих и людей вокруг.

Раздумывание

Они вдумчиво относятся к собственному обучению и опыту. Они могут оценивать и понимать свои сильные и слабые стороны, таким образом продолжая обучаться и развиваться как личность.

Подходы к навыкам обучения

Развитие таких навыков, как общение и мышление, зачастую определяется как важнейший элемент подготовки студентов к жизни за пределами школы. Развитие этих навыков для студентов - это нечто большее, чем просто познавательные способности. Это также касается развития психологических и метакогнитивных навыков и того, чтобы студенты рассматривали обучение как что-то, что они «делают для себя, а не как происходящее в ответ на преподавание» (Циммерман 2000: 65).

Навыки мышления

Развитие навыков мышления у студентов – это не прихоть, а одно из самых насущных и амбициозных целей образования.

(Швартц и Перкинс 1989: 5)

Развитие навыков мышления является ключевой особенностью конструктивистского подхода, который влияет на все IB программы. В этом подходе учитель рассматривается как содействующее лицо, которое «руководит учеником, стимулируя критическое мышление ученика, анализ и синтез во всем процессе обучения» (Briner, 1999: 1). Мышление определяется как один из атрибутов профиля IB студента с точки зрения критического и творческого применения навыков мышления для определения и столкновения со сложными задачами и применения обоснованных решений.

Навыки общения

Большинство людей не слушают с намерением понять; они слушают с намерением ответить.

(Стивен Кови, 2004: 239)

Рекрутеры на вопрос о том, какие навыки они ищут в потенциальных будущих сотрудниках, ответили, что во главе списка навыков они ставят навыки устного и письменного общения (см., опрос в Wagner, 2010). В последние годы школьного образования студенты должны четко понимать этот аспект, поскольку зачастую в описаниях должностных обязанностей входит требование хорошо развитых навыков общения (Krapels and Davis 2003).

Социальные навыки

Чтобы эффективно функционировать в школьной среде, студенты должны быть способны как в отношении общения и поведения со сверстниками, так и с преподавателями. Эти навыки тесно связаны с навыками общения, а также с характеристикой профиля IB студента, например, неравнодушие (ученики знают о влиянии своего поведения на других).

Навыки самоорганизации

Эта категория навыков разбивается на две отдельные области.

1. Организационные навыки - эффективное управление временем и задачами, постановка целей и т.д.

2. Эмоциональные навыки - управление психологическим настроем, самомотивацией, сопротивляемостью, внимательностью и т.д.

Организационные навыки

Одним из наиболее важных навыков, необходимых для успеха в программе, являются организационные навыки, а именно организация рабочего времени. Студенты как среднего, так и высшего образования прекрасно знают свои недостатки в этом аспекте, но зачастую не располагают эффективными стратегиями для решения этой проблемы (Weissberg et al., 1982).

Эмоциональные навыки

Развитие эмоциональных навыков является ключевой частью развития навыков самоорганизации. Благодаря развитию эмоциональных навыков студенты могут контролировать свое настроение, мотивировать себя и эффективно справляться с неудачами и трудностями. Этот аспект и сфера здоровья и благополучия студентов тесно связаны, однако исторически она обычно «отделена от других аспектов школьной жизни» (Konu и Rimpelā, 2002).

Навыки исследования

Большинство студентов считают, что исследование – это ввод ключевых слов в окно поиска, недооценивая важность других методов.

(Николс и Меллингер 2007)

Основное внимание в программе уделяется развитию исследовательских навыков, например, это можно увидеть в подготовке и написании расширенного эссе. Расширенное эссе дает возможность студентам провести личные исследования по теме на свой выбор при поддержке и руководстве наставника. Расширенное эссе представляет собой сложную задачу, благодаря которой студенты смогут развить сложные исследовательские и письменные навыки. Тем не менее такая задача в школьной среде при поддержке и руководстве наставника послужит отличной подготовкой к университетским исследованиям, где студентам, вероятно, придется выполнять аналогичные задачи, но без аналогичной структуры и поддержки.

Мы хотели бы выразить особую благодарность IBO за предоставление информации, содержащейся на этой странице. Пожалуйста, перейдите по ссылке (website) для получения дополнительной информации о подходе к навыкам, необходимым в учебе.  

Haileybury Astana и Haileybury Almaty поддерживают благополучие и защиту молодежи. В рамках процесса найма новых сотрудников мы требуем от всех заявителей прохождения полицейских проверок и проверки DBS U.K. , также применяя в работе четкие протоколы по мерам защиты и безопасности.

Safeguarding and Child Protection Policy
Этот сайт использует cookies. Продалжая использовать данный сайт, вы соглашаетесь на использование этих файлов. Читать подробнее